Academic Resources

Aspen High School’s 2016-2017 Tutors

 
NAME
CONTACT INFORMATION
AREA(S) OF EXPERTISE
LEVEL
Charlie Anastas
970-925-3736
cfax@comcast.net
Spanish all levels including IB; IB trained English grades 9 and 10 (Lit and Comp, American Lit.), Geography, US History, Modern World History 
9-12
Josh Anderson
(303) 667-0211
josh.anderson007@gmail.compage1image13464
Science (Physics and Chemistry) and Math (all)
6-12
Karen Angus
(970) 319-1817
kangusk@gmail.com
English, Social Studies, Study/Organization Skills, Writing  9-12
Chris Bonadies
(970) 379-8487
cbonadies@yahoo.com
College Prep Tutor
11-12
Julie Case
(970) 618-5656
jcaseaspen@gmail.com
Writing Tutor
 
Candice Clauss
(720) 273-6386
csclauss@icloud.compage1image31024
All standardized test prep (ACT; SAT; SSAT; GRE) and college applications and essay writing 
9-12
Janis Dybdahl
(970) 923-2788
snmsgal@gmail.com
French and Spanish
 
Giovanna DiRusso
(970) 618-5656 
dirusso7@aol.com
English
 
Emily W. Farrell  (303) 887-7570
emilywfarrellcounseling@yahoo.com
www.emilywfarrell.com
Academic Coach / Counseling Services 5-12
Mike Flynn
(970) 922-0914 / (970) 948-6893
aspenflynn@comcast.net
Physics, IB and Regular; All Earth Sciences 
 
Amber Franze
(970) 389-1520
amberfranze@gmail.com
College & Career Coach  
Trey Gantt (770) 712-2686
jamesgantt007@gmail.com
Math through Calculus & Stats; Biology & Physics   
John Haskell
(440) 829-9018
haskellj@gmail.com
English, SAT/ACT/College Prep
9-12
Laurel Henderson (970) 946-6808
Lah51@hotmail.com
Spanish and English 9-12
Stacey Hernandez (720) 588-9633
stacy@thebestu.net
Independent college counseling company  10-12
Heather Hicks
(970) 309-8859
h2hicks@gmail.com
page1image55696 page1image56016
Spanish (No IB)
9-12
David Joseph (917) 355-8001
davidjosephco@gmail.com
Academic Tutor  
Philip Kalfas
(970) 319-5571
philip@aspentutor.com
All Math, Science, History, English, ACT/SAT/SSAT College Test Prep
page1image61456 page1image61776
5-12
Linda Karaus (970) 618-7027 / (970) 920-3866
linda@karaus.name
College Planning Assistance   
Soraya Khalje
(970) 930-1235
soraya@AspenValleyTutoring.com
www.AspenValleyTutoring.com
All subjects including College Prep except Foreign Language
 
Missy April Klug
(970) 309-7035
missy@chrisklug.com
Adolescent Educational Tutor & Counselor; Expertise in English and History
 
Hana Lewicki
(608) 215-1386 hannalewicki@gmail.com
page1image72536 page1image73120
Spanish
 
Brent Maiolo
(970) 456-5907
bmaiolo@aspenk12.net
Chemistry/Biology/Geology/Physics/P.E./Spanish  
Lynda McCarthy
(970) 925-8292
Lyndamac101@hotmail.com
English, Geography, SAT, Study Skills, Algebra, College Essays and Applications
page1image83312 page1image83632
 
Whitney McCarthy
(803) 292-0798
whitneymccarthy@yahoo.com
Math, Science
 
Joyce Meredith (970) 618-4937
jmeredith@sopris.net
Math and Science; ACT and SAT plus Subject Tests; Instruction to support online and correspondence courses in all subjects except foreign language 9-12
Jim Morris
(970) 274-4086 jaimorris@comcast.net
page1image89376 page1image89960
All Mathematics
5-12
Jenny Peterson
(970) 274-5150
jennyrsvpeterson@gmail.com
Algebra I and II (Regular and Advanced); Geometry (Regular and Advanced); Precalculus; IB Mathematics; IB Biology I and II; Chemistry (any level)
9-12
Anne Roland
(970) 923-2115
roland_anne@hotmail.com
French Native Educatior (IB and AP trained)
K-12
Susan Sanchez (970) 309-4654
susan9295@gmail.com
Algebra I through IB Maths/Calculus I 9-12
Elizabeth Schwartz (970) 404-2066 / (970) 544-5808
zibbyschwartz@gmail.com
College Application Tutor  11-12
Elizabeth Stewart-Severy (970) 329-2782
elizabeth.severy@gmail.com
English  
Fordy Sinkinson (970) 319-5689
sinkin40@gmail.com
Spanish  
Eleanor Shelton (734) 646-7010
eleanor@sheltoncommunications.net
Writing Coach / College Application Tutor 9-12
Bob Stewart (970) 927-3479; (970) 379-4995
bobstewart@aspencountryday.net
All Subjects: Special Education, Learning Disabilities  K-12
Tess Strokes  (541) 206-3083
tess@tesswstrokes.com
General Writing Tutor / Coach including college essays  9-12
Kevin Ward (970) 309-3390
kevinpward@post.harvard.edu
Expert Common App and School-specific Essay Tutoring; Writing/Counseling taught Literature/Writing at Harvard; Harvard Interviewer  10-12
Noah Webber  (309) 368-8335
nwwebber@gmail.com
All levels of Math, Science, English; Experience with Learning Disabilities   
Carolyn Williams (970) 274-6298
carolyn@coloradoeducationalconsulting.com
www.coloradoeducationalconsulting.com  
Judy Wrigley (970) 925-3018
espanoltoo@comast.net
Spanish, French, and English 9-12
 
*Although Aspen School District provides names and numbers of area tutors, our district does not represent nor necessarily endorse any of these individuals. 

Online Learning

We get many questions about online learning opportunities in conjunction with in-school coursework. If you are an Aspen High student, please connect with your counselors and/or school administration because Aspen High now offers online courses!  Let me repeat, ASPEN HIGH NOW HAS ITS OWN ONLINE OFFERINGS

The Colorado Department of Education also has certified online offerings that are available for all students in the state of Colorado. Here is a link that you can reference prior to speaking with your school administration- http://www.cde.state.co.us/onlinelearning/schools

 

Students / Parents Please Note:

Prior to registering for any online coursework, please coordinate with your school administration and/or counselor for approvals to make sure that you will receive the correct credits on your school transcript.

Also, AVSC athletes attending Aspen High School must take English classes at AHS. No High School credits will be given for any online English classes.

Team AVSC Sponsors